7 Vows and their Significance


In the excitement of D-day people generally fret a lot since it is such a hectic thing to plan and most importantly it is the fulfillment of dreams to many. Everybody wishes their big day to be lavish, pompous if possible a bit extravagant and  many other things. But among all those things the vital part is about following traditions. The Indian Hindu marriages accustoms to these traditions and their sacredness, significance irrespective of style, place and all. One such sacred ritual is the Seven Vows commonly called as “Saat Pheras” where both groom and bride revolve around a sacred fire without which a marriage is incomplete.


image source


The Saat Phere are performed in the light of the vows bride and groom exchange with each other about many things like promising each other their lives, their lifetime commitment to one another, their support which anchors the couple through all the ups and downs of their life along with love for their partner.

images (1)

image source

Seven Vows:

First Vow

Groom’s vow
“Om esha ekapadi bhava iti prathaman”

Bride’s vow:
“Dhanam dhanyam pade vadet”

The couple appeals for God blessings in the form of pure and nourishing food with a noble and respectable life. Groom promises to love, cherish and provide for his wife and children and Bride promises to honor him and take up the responsibilities of the house and children.

Second Vow

Groom’s vow:
“Om oorje jara dastayaha”

Bride’s vow:
“Kutumburn rakshayishyammi sa aravindharam”

Second vow is praying for strength and a peaceful and healthy life. Groom pledges his support to his wife forever and defending their house and children together. Bride pledges her support to stand by him always demanding his love.

Third Vow

Groom’s vow:
“Om rayas Santu joradastayaha”

Bride’s vow:
“Tava bhakti as vadedvachacha”

This is to pray for wisdom, prosperity in their lives so as they can lead a content life. Groom pledges to work for the prosperity of his family while offering faithfulness. Bride promises her faithfulness and everlasting support to him and remain a chaste wife.

Fourth Vow

Bridegroom’s vow:
“Om mayo bhavyas jaradastaya ha”
Bride’s vow:
“Lalayami cha pade vadet”

For recognizing the auspiciousness, sacredness that is being brought into their lives for its worth. Groom and Bride both promises each other happiness, prosperity, love, care and cherishing their family and also pleasing each other.

Fifth Vow

Groom’s vow:
“Om prajabhyaha Santu jaradastayaha”
Bride’s vow:
“Arte arba sapade vadet”

This is to be blessed with children and happiness of all others. Groom and Bride while offering each other trust and praying to have children along with happiness of all others in their family and their well being.

Sixth Vow

Bride’s vow:
“Yajne home shashthe vacho vadet”

This is to have a perfect balanced life with harmony and long and happy life. The groom wishes that his wife would glut his life with joy and peace while the bride provides assurance that she would participate with her husband in all his noble and divine acts.

Seventh Vow

Groom’s vow:
“Om sakhi jaradastayahga”
Bride’s vow:
“Attramshe sakshino vadet pade”

The final vow signifies the couple long lasting relationship enriched with understanding and loyalty which concludes their marriage completion. bride and Groom take an oath to nourish their relationship with love and honesty and be together with each other forever not only in this life, but also in the lives to come.

images (2)

image source


As you know each vow is sacred and have a sacred meaning too. So welcome your D-day by these sacred vows and fulfill your marriage completely. It is a way to assure your partner that he/she is worthy of your love and you are willing to submit, ’till death do you part’.



2. http://www.culturalindia.net/weddings…

3. https://in.lifestyle.yahoo.com/significance…


Related posts

Leave a Comment